Faculty & Staff


Sarah Halvorson

Sarah Halvorson Environment and Development in Mountainous Regions

Office: Stone Hall 211
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: sarah.halvorson@umontana.edu

Water Resource Geography, Hazards and Disasters, Mountain Geography, Gender and the Environment, Central and South Asia.


Anna Klene

Anna Klene Professor of Geography

Office: Stone Hall 216
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: anna.klene@umontana.edu

Arctic and Alpine Environments, Climatology, Cryosphere, Geomorphology, Modeling, Remote Sensing.

Jeremy Sage

Jeremy Sage Research Associate Professor of Geography; Economist & Associate Director, ITRR

Office: Stone 204
Fax: 406.243.4845
Email: jeremy.sage@umontana.edu

David Shively

David Shively Retired Professor

Email: david.shively@umontana.edu

Community and Environmental Planning, Water Resources and Watershed Management.

Christiane von Reichert

Christiane von Reichert Professor of Geography

Office: Stone Hall 210
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: c.vonreichert@umontana.edu

Rural Communities and Landscapes, Socio-demographic Analysis, Community Change and Planning, Rural Return Migration, Rural Economies and Livelihoods, Qualitative and Quantitative Methods, Transportation GIS.


Shonna Trowbridge

Shonna Trowbridge Director of Student Services

Office: FOR 204
Email: shonna.trowbridge@umontana.edu

Devi Zdziebko

Devi Zdziebko Dean's Assistant; Admin Supervisor, Franke College of Forestry

Office: FOR 109
Email: devi.zdziebko@umontana.edu

Active Emeritus Professor

Jeffrey Gritzner

Jeffrey Gritzner Emeritus Professor

Office: Stone Hall 204
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: jeffrey.gritzner@umontana.edu

Environmental change & restoration, Africa & Middle East



Alton Byers

Alton Byers Senior Research Associate, Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR), University of Colorado, Boulder

Email: alton.byers@colorado.edu

Faith Ann Heinsch

Faith Ann Heinsch Physical Scientist

Office: U.S. Forest Service, 5775 US Highway 10 W
Email: faheinsch@fs.fed.us

Zachary A. Holden

Zachary A. Holden Ecologist

Office: 200 East Broadway St.
Email: zaholdenfs@gmail.com

Ecology, Climate, Climate Change,  Remote Sensing, biogeography, fire ecology

Ia Iashvili

Ia Iashvili Associate Professor of Geography

Email: ia.iashvili@tsu.ge

Kevin McManigal

Kevin McManigal Lecturer, Geographic Information Systems

Office: CHCB 439
Email: kevin.mcmanigal@mso.umt.edu

Cartography, GIS, Remote Sensing, Mountain Geography, Glaciology

Irena Mrak

Irena Mrak Assistant Research Professor

Office: Department of Geography, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Email: irena.mrak@siol.net

Geomorphology, Glaciology, Hazards, "High" Asia, Mountain Geography.

Erich Peitzsch

Erich Peitzsch U.S.G.S., Glacier National Park

Email: epeitzsch@usgs.gov

Fernando Sanchez

Fernando Sanchez Affiliate

Office: Stone Hall 207
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: Fernando.Sanchez@mso.umt.edu

Spatial-Temporal Data Analysis; Computer Applications to Social Sciences; GIS Programming; Soft Systems; Public Participation

Jennifer Watts

Jennifer Watts Post-Doc at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, Massachusetts

Email: watts@whrc.org